FRIM honours current & ex-staff involved in rubberwood research

FRIM held an appreciation ceremony on 29 January 2010 to acknowledge the contribution of its former and current staff involved in the rubberwood R&D, which led to FRIM being conferred the Mahathir Science Award 2009.

The award was given by the Academy of Sciences Malaysia on 28 September 2009 in recognition of FRIM's significant role in the development of the country’s rubberwood furniture industry.

At the appreciation ceremony held at Villa Aromatic in FRIM, Kepong, Dato’ Dr Abd. Latif presented certificates and tokens of appreciation to 20 recipients led by former FRIM DG Tan Sri Dr Salleh Mohd Nor.

Among the retirees present were Mr Peh Teik Bin, Mr Wong Wing Chong, Mr Hong Lay Thong, Mr Chong Kwong Foo, Mr G. Gucharan Singh and Mr Khoo Khean Choon.

The DG took the opportunity to express his heartfelt gratitude to all of them, adding that he hoped FRIM researchers would continue to work as a team in pursuit of research excellence.

Published: 17 Mar 2010

Contact details:

Forest Research Institute Malaysia (FRIM) 52109, Kepong Selangor Darul Ehsan

603 - 6279 7000
News topics: 
Content type: