IDRC Canadian Window on International Development Awards

The next deadline for application for IDRC's Canadian Window on International Development award competition is April 1 2012.

IDRC offers these awards annually to Canadians, permanent residents of Canada, and citizens of developing countries pursuing master’s or doctoral studies at a Canadian university. These awards are intended for field research in Canada and one or more developing countries. Candidates must conduct their research in areas corresponding to IDRC's research priorities and must ensure that their research project aligns with these priorities.

Countries around the world are grappling with economic, environmental, health, and social issues that are increasingly global in nature. Canada faces many complex problems that have international dimensions, while Canadian policies in areas such as trade, investment, and immigration may have profound effects on less developed countries.

These awards support research that explores the interrelationships between Canada and developing countries, to better understand issues of common concern. Successful proposals will also identify the potential for Canada and the developing country to learn from each other in dealing with a shared problem.

In principle, IDRC supports research in all developing countries. At this time, however, we do not support awards that involve research in Burma (Myanmar), Cuba, Iran, Iraq, Eastern Europe, or Central Asia.

Prior to issuing the award and contract, field research proposed in the following countries or territories must be approved by IDRC:

Afghanistan, Burundi, Central African Republic, Chad, Congo (Democratic Republic of), Eritrea, Korea (Democratic People’s Republic of), Liberia, Libya, Papua New Guinea, Small Island States [including Comoros, Equatorial Guinea, Mauritius, São Tomé and Principe, Seychelles, Timor-Leste and Oceania (Cook Islands, Fiji, Nauru, Kiribati, Palau, Marshall Islands, Niue, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tokelau, Tuvalu, Tonga, Vanuatu, Wallis & Futuna)], Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Syria, Taiwan (Republic of China), West Bank and Gaza, Yemen, Zimbabwe.

To be eligible, you must meet the following requirements:

be a citizen or permanent resident of Canada, or a citizen of a developing country

be enrolled at a Canadian university at the master’s or doctoral level

your research proposal must be approved by your thesis supervisor

your proposed field research must take place in Canada and one or more developing countries and be conducted for a master’s or doctoral dissertation

you must provide evidence of affiliation with an institution or organization in both the Canadian and developing-country regions in which the research will take place

you must have completed course work and passed comprehensive exams before taking up the award.

(You have up to 12 months to start your field research from the date on the letter of offer.)

These awards are offered once a year. Competition deadline is April 1 (awards announced in September).
For more information, contact us at [email protected].

Published: 19 Mar 2012

Contact details:

Head Office
Mailing address PO Box 8500, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada K1G 3H9

208 Jor Bagh, New Delhi 110003, India
Phone: (+91-11) 2461-9411

Latin America and the Caribbean:
Juncal 1385, Piso 14
11000 Montevideo, Uruguay
Phone: (+598) 2915-0492

Middle East and North Africa 
Zahran Gate Complex Suite 302,
25 Ismael Haqqi Abdo Street,
Amman, Jordan

Sub-Saharan Africa
PO Box 62084 00200, Nairobi, Kenya

Street address: Eaton Place, 3rd floor
United Nations Crescent, Gigiri, Nairobi, Kenya
Phone: (+254) 709-074000

+1 613 236 6163
News topics: 
Content type: