TWAS 2016 Prizes - Call for nominations

The World Academy of Sciences (TWAS) – for the advancement of science in developing countries, is seeking nominations the TWAS 2016 Prizes. Closing date for nominations: 29 February 2016

The TWAS prizes are aimed at recognizing and rewarding the scientific work carried out by individual scientists living and working in developing countries.

The TWAS 2016 Prizes will be awarded in recognition of an outstanding contribution to scientific knowledge in a field of science of the Academy and/or an outstanding contribution to the application of science and technology to sustainable development.
The outstanding contribution may be defined in relation to existing opportunities and realistic possibilities available to the candidate. This applies particularly to candidates from scientifically disadvantaged countries.

The TWAS 2016 Prizes will be given in nine different fields: Agricultural Sciences, Biology, Chemistry, Earth Sciences, Engineering Sciences, Mathematics, Medical Sciences, Physics and Social Sciences.
Each prize carries a monetary award of US$ 15,000 and a plaque.

The deadline for receiving nominations is 29 February 2016.

Further details on eligibility criteria and submission procedure are available online at: where the nomination forms can be downloaded.

Published: 22 Jan 2016

Contact details:

TWAS ICTP Campus Strada Costiera 11 34014 Trieste

0039 040 2240 327
News topics: 
Content type: