University of the Philippines Los Baños

The University of the Philippines Los Baños (UPLB), a coeducational, publicly funded academic, research and extension institution, is one of the six constituent universities of the University of the Philippines System. It started out as a College of Agriculture in 1909; and became a full-fledged university in 1972. It has emerged as a leading academic institution in Southeast Asia. UPLB is dedicated to advancing knowledge and educating students in science, technology, agriculture, forestry, veterinary medicine and other areas of scholarship that will best serve the Filipinos and the humanity in the 21st century. Its outstanding achievements in the basic and applied sciences are testaments to the great strides it has made for the past ninety years. The alumni continue to be the prime movers in academe, in government and in business.

UPLB is organized into nine colleges -- Agriculture, Arts and Sciences, Development Communication, Economics and Management, Engineering and Agro-industrial Technology, Forestry and Natural Resources, Human Ecology, Public Affairs, and Veterinary Medicine -- and two schools -- Environmental Science and Management, and The Graduate School. Within these are degree-granting institutes, departments, programs, and divisions. In addition, a great deal of teaching, research and extension take place in interdisciplinary programs, laboratories, and centers whose works extend beyond traditional departmental boundaries. The UPLB Faculty and Administration consist of leaders in higher education, business and industry, science, engineering and other professions.


c/o the Chancellor
University of the Philippines Los Baños
Abelardo Samonte Hall
UPLB, College, Laguna 4031