Universiti Sains Malaysia

University Sains Malaysia is a major research and academic institution. Established in June 1969, USM's Main Campus is located on the island of Penang. The University's two other campuses are the Health Campus in Kubang Kerian, in the State of Kelantan and the Engineering Campus in Nibong Tebal (now renamed Seri Ampangan), about 50 km from the Main Campus in Penang.

Research is conducted in the R&D Centres and Academic Schools. The university's R&D centres are:

  • Centre of Policy Research Drug Research Centre
  • Centre for Archeological Research Malaysia
  • Vector Control Research Unit
  • Unit of Women & Human Resource Studies
  • National Poison Centre
  • Computer-Aided Translation Unit
  • Doping Control Centre
  • Centre for Marine & Coastal Studies
  • Basic Education Research Unit
  • Research & Education for Peace (REPUSM)
  • Advanced Medical & Dental Institute (AMDI)
  • Astronomy & Atmospheric Science Research Unit
  • Institute for Research In Molecular Medicine (INFORMM)
  • River Engineering and Urban Drainage Research Centre (REDAC)
  • Centre For Education And Training In Renewable Energy And Energy Efficiency (CETREE)

The University's Academic Schools are

  • [Main Campus] Physics, Biological Science, Educational Studies, Communication, Chemical Science, Housing, Building & Planning, Distance Education, Arts, Pharmaceutical Science, Humanities, Management, Mathematical Science, Social Science, Computer Science, Industrial Technology
  • [Health Campus] Health Science, Dental Science, Medical Science
  • [Engineering Campus] Aerospace Engineering, Chemical Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Electronic & Electrical Engineering, Civil Engineering, Material & Mineral Sources Engineering

Universiti Sains Malaysia 11800 Minden Penang

++604-6533888 (Main Campus), ++609-7651704/00/11(Health Campus), ++604-5937788 (Engineering Campus)