Universiti Malaysia Sabah

Universiti Malaysia Sabah (UMS) was established on 24 November 1994. His Royal Highness the Yang DiPertuan Agong proclaimed the establishment of UMS under Section 6(1) of the Universities and University Colleges Act 1971. The ninth public university in Malaysia expanded rapidly since its inception. The physical development of permanent campus on a 999 acre piece of land began in earnest in August 1995. The University’s occupation of the permanent campus started in 1999 and completed in 2000. In the year 2000, a branch campus was established in Labuan Island placing 2 Schools concentrating on International Offshore Banking and E-Commerce. In addition, UMS has three centres of excellence to support teaching, learning and research in the university such as Tropical Biology and Conservation Research Institute, Borneo Marine Research Institute and Biotechnology Research Institute. Centre for The Promotion of Knowledge and Language Learning were also established to support teaching, learning and research in the University. Today, UMS is proud with its 13 Schools offering 63 degree Programmes, with a total enrolment of more than 10,000 students.


Universiti Malaysia Sabah Locked Bag 2073 88999 Kota Kinabalu Sabah