Improved Nile-Tilapia fish researcher wins award

PCAMRD Confers 19th Dr. Elvira O. Tan Memorial Award


EVERY year during the celebration of the Department of Science and Technology - National Science and Technology Week (NSTW), the PCAMRD confers the Dr. Elvira O. Tan Memorial Awards for Best Published Paper in Aquaculture/Inland Fisheries and Marine Fisheries.

For this year, the Dr. Elvira O. Tan Memorial Award for Best Published Paper in Aquaculture was awarded to Dr. Zubaida U. Basiao, formerly of the Southeast Asian Fisheries Development Center, for the paper on “Farmer-Oriented Nile Tilapia (Oreochromis niloticus) Breed Improvement in the Philippines. Her co-authors were Ms. Adelaida L. Arago and Mr. Roger W. Doyle. Dr. Basiao and her co-authors received a cash prize of P25, 000 and a plaque of recognition.

This year, no award was conferred for the Best Published Paper in Marine Fisheries as there was no qualified paper based on the Board of Judges’ set criteria for this category.

The Board of Judges was composed of Dr. Herminio Rabanal as Chair, and Drs. Catalino dela Cruz, and Mr. Felix Gonzales as members. Drs. Rabanal and dela Cruz are consultants at the DA-BFAR and DA-BAR, respectively, and Mr. Gonzales is the Director General of the Chamber of Fisheries and Aquatic Resources or CFAR.

The conferment of the award was held during the DOST – NSTW Celebration’s closing ceremonies on July 18, 2005 at the Philippine Trade Training Center. MVRicafrente

Published: 24 Aug 2005

News topics: 
Content type: